top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRoger Simmons

So Many Writers

As a writer, I try to stay active on social media websites such as Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. What amazes me is the number of writers out there. It also appears that a lot of the writers choose to go the self-publishing route. I did myself with my first three books, REUNION, GOING FISHING, and my book of poetry.


With my latest novel MIYOKO'S WILL, I've been pursuing the traditional publishing route. The biggest mistake I've made so far was sending out query letters before MIYOKO'S WILL was fully polished. Although I got positive feedback, I also acquired a lot of rejections, with a lot of the agents gently saying no. Because of this, I am beginning the fifth polishing up of MIYOKO'S WILL based upon the critic I recently received from a Publisher who accepts Historical Fiction novels.

Haste makes waste. This time, I'm taking it slowly. I want to be able to show the Publisher that I learned my lesson and that MIYOKO'S WILL is fully polished and ready to be published. You live, you learn.


I, my friends, have learned my lesson.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Show, Don't Tell, A Golden Rule of Creative Writing

No doubt about it, writing is an art. However, not all writers are artists. There are the professional writers, who actually make a living off their writing and there are amateur writers. who pay to s

Miyoko's Will

In addition to REUNION, the story of a family reunion over the Christmas holiday; GOING FISHING, a book of short stories; and my book of poetry, all available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other webs

bottom of page