top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRoger Simmons

Show, Don't Tell, A Golden Rule of Creative Writing

No doubt about it, writing is an art. However, not all writers are artists. There are the professional writers, who actually make a living off their writing and there are amateur writers. who pay to self publish their writing. I'm not putting self published writers down, since a lot of self-published writers actually make money off their books.


Either way, you need to establish a fan base and, if you go the traditional publishing route, you need to convince a Literary Agent in a query letter of 300 to 350 words, that your book is worthy of a second look. There must be no typo or grammatical errors and, as has often been said, you need to show and not tell. You also need to write a story that is going to keep the readers attention, Generally speaking, there is a lead character and a protagonist preventing the lead character from attaining their goal. Only through perseverance can the lead character prevail.


As a writer, you should also be prepared to experience a lot of rejection. If your feelings are easily hurt, don't be a writer. Invest your time and energy in some other endeavor which is much more fulfilling and lucreative. I've dreamed of being a professional writer for a good number of years now. And each year, the competition grows exponentially.


However, even with all the obstacles, I refuse to give up. So I'll keep reading, performing research, and writing and rewriting my books and stories until I attain my ultimate goal of being a Published Author. Repeat after me, I won't give up, I won't give up, I won't give up...

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

So Many Writers

As a writer, I try to stay active on social media websites such as Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. What amazes me is the number of writers out there. It also appears that a lot of the writers choose

Miyoko's Will

In addition to REUNION, the story of a family reunion over the Christmas holiday; GOING FISHING, a book of short stories; and my book of poetry, all available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other webs

bottom of page